Department of Justice Canada Minister's Transition Book

Front-line Support to the Minister of Justice and the Minister’s Office

DEPUTY MINISTER’S OFFICE

Chief of Staff

Stéphanie Poliquin

948-8981

     [Information was severed in accordance with the Access to Information Act. s.19(1)]     

Biography

Senior Counsels

Sarah Geh, 952-0627

Scott Nesbitt, 957-1524

Eric Lafleur, 992-6519

Personal Assistant to the Deputy Minister

Suzanne Désormeaux, 957-4998

ASSOCIATE DEPUTY MINISTER’S OFFICE

Chief of Staff & Senior Counsel

Alexia Taschereau, 957-3270

Counsel

Adam Garskey, 957-4918

Executive Assistant

Sonia Rousselle, 941-4072

Administrative Assistant and Briefings and Correspondence Coordinator

Michelle Diotte, 954-1200

Front-line Services

KEY WEEKLY MEETINGS

Meetings with the Minister

MIN/DM

The MIN/DM is a weekly opportunity for the Deputy Minister and the Associate Deputy Minister to meet with the Minister. This essential meeting serves two purposes. First, it provides a forum for the constructive exchange of information and in-depth discussions on sensitive and emerging issues; as well as providing advice on the strategic management of files. Second, it facilitates the decision- making process. The meeting ends with a discussion on policy development and possible strategies to ensure that relevant information is brought to the Minister’s attention in a timely manner in order to advance the legislative forward agenda; which involves the presence of key Justice officials to provide in-depth briefings on files or issues.

Weekly Meetings

MO Week Ahead

The MO Week Ahead is a weekly meeting between the Minister’s staff and identified key members of the Deputy Minister’s Office to plan the week ahead. This meeting is held early Monday morning and is chaired by the Director of the Ministerial Secretariat. It provides an opportunity to identify and discuss Cabinet and parliamentary activities and files, as well as briefing requirements, correspondence and communications-related events. It also provides an opportunity to provide strategic advice, share timely information and confirm horizontal linkages.

DMO Week Ahead

The DMO Week Ahead is a weekly meeting chaired by the Deputy Minister where senior departmental officials meet to discuss and plan the week ahead, share strategic information and identify possible legal risks. This meeting is held on Monday morning after the MO Week Ahead meeting in order to be in a position to confirm the Minister’s briefing needs for the upcoming week and to facilitate a continuous and effective flow of information allowing the Department to meet its objectives.

Ministerial Secretariat

Ministerial Support

The Ministerial Secretariat plays a key role in supporting the Minister, Deputy Minister and senior departmental officials by providing strategic advice and operational services in support of their Cabinet and Parliamentary responsibilities as well as correspondence and briefing needs. The Ministerial Secretariat enhances coordination and horizontal information sharing across the Department and also establishes and manages horizontal linkages between the executive offices, the Department and external parties.

The Ministerial Secretariat consists of three units: the Ministerial Liaison Unit, the Cabinet and Parliamentary Affairs Unit and the Ministerial Correspondence Unit

Director, Ministerial Secretariat

Yanike Legault, 952-8354

Ministerial Liaison

The Ministerial Liaison Unit (MLU) serves as the primary link for information going to and coming from the Minister’s Office and the Department by:

  • working with the Minister’s Office to anticipate and define the scope, content and timing of the Minister’s briefing needs;
  • working with the Department to ensure that ministerial documents meet identified needs;
  • cooperating with the Minister’s Office to ensure that the Minister’s decisions are communicated to the Department in a timely manner and that the Department is advised of new information or follow-up needed as a result of briefings provided; and
  • collaborating with all parts of the Department to ensure the information flow supports effective issues management and decision making.

The MLU is also responsible for coordinating, reviewing and editing all briefing material for the Minister; organizing oral briefings with or for the Minister and the Minister’s staff (e.g., technical briefings for members of Parliament, briefing prior to a parliamentary committee appearance); and responding to invitations addressed to the Minister.

Manager, Ministerial Liaison Unit

Julie Gauthier, 948-2998

Cabinet & Parliamentary Responsibilities

The Cabinet and Parliamentary Affairs Unit (CPAU) supports the Minister in the Cabinet decision-making process and in his legislative and parliamentary responsibilities by providing timely comprehensive briefing materials and strategic advice and expertise to the Minister’s Office, the Deputy Minister’s Office and senior departmental officials. CPAU also establishes and maintains a network of contacts with Central Agencies and other government departments to monitor and advise on Cabinet, parliamentary and legislative business of a horizontal nature.

The support provided by the CPAU is achieved by:

  • coordinating and managing the Department’s Parliamentary and Cabinet agenda;
  • coordinating and managing Parliamentary Returns;
  • coordinating the tabling of annual reports and other special reports;
  • preparing, coordinating and reviewing all briefing materials, including speeches and talking points, for the Minister’s use at Cabinet and before Parliament;
  • monitoring all Parliamentary and Cabinet activities and acting as the primary liaison between the Minister’s Office and the Department on these matters;
  • providing strategic advice on proposals that are led by the Department and those of interest led by other government departments; and
  • developing strategies and approaches to advance the legislative agenda.

Acting/Chief, Cabinet and Parliamentary Affairs Unit

Michael Assad, 954-3232

Ministerial Correspondence

The Ministerial Correspondence Unit (MCU) manages the process and protocol for all correspondence addressed to the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada.

Ministerial Correspondence staff prepare replies to approximately 95 percent of the incoming mail. The remaining 5 percent is sent to various departmental sectors for specific input from a policy or legal perspective.

Manager, Ministerial Correspondence Unit

Louise Bisson, 957-2950

Communications Branch

Communications

The Communications Branch provides strategic advice and planning services in media relations, internal and external communications, digital and social media, speech strategy and writing, as well as media monitoring and analysis.

Director General, Communications Branch

Tracie Noftle, 957-9596

Director, Creative Services, New Media and Electronic Communications

Jennifer Buffam, 957-4216

Media Relations

The Media Relations Issues Management and Litigation unit of the Communications Branch liaises closely with the Minister’s Office to respond to media requests, provide journalists with necessary background information, prepare press lines for the Minister, coordinate media interviews, and provide operational and organizational support for press conferences, announcements and media events.

In addition, the Media Relations group works with media to explain departmental positions on justice issues, provide a detect-and-correct function, and to promote the activities and policies of the Department and the Minister. The unit also organizes technical briefings for media, in coordination with Policy Sector, as required.

Manager, Media Relations, Issues Management and Litigation Communications

Christian Girouard, 613-858-0182

Daily Press Clippings—Media Monitoring

The Media Relations unit provides an electronic clippings package daily for the Minister, the Minister’s Office, and departmental officials. The press clippings are sent by email daily by 6:30 a.m.  The unit monitors media in real time throughout the day and circulates relevant news stories as they become available.

Communications Officer (Media Monitoring)

Angela Savard, 613-617-4334

Speeches

The Speech Unit provides strategic advice, planning, and guidance in ministerial speech strategy and delivery.  It manages the preparation and coordination of speeches and researches, writes, edits, translates, and evaluates the presentation of speeches.

Contact for Speech Requests Manager, Creative Services and Social Media

Susan Fisher-Clement, 957-4620

Department of Justice Floor Plan

Date modified:

Cahier d'information à l'intention de la ministre de la Justice du Canada

Soutien de première ligne au ministre de la Justice et à son cabinet

BUREAU DU SOUS-MINISTRE

Chef de cabinet

Stéphanie Poliquin

948-8981

     [Les renseignements ont été retranchés, conformément à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. s19(1)]     

Biographie

Avocats-conseils

Sarah Geh, 952-0627

Scott Nesbitt, 957-1524

Eric Lafleur, 992-6519

Adjointe personnelle du sous-ministre

Suzanne Désormeaux, 957-4998

BUREAU DU SOUS-MINISTRE DÉLÉGUÉ

Chef de cabinet et avocate-conseil

Alexia Taschereau, 957-3270

Avocat

Adam Garskey, 957-4918

Adjointe exécutive

Sonia Rousselle, 941-4072

Adjointe administrative et coordonnatrice des notes d'information et de la correspondance

Michelle Diotte, 954-1200

Services de première ligne

RÉUNIONS HEBDOMADAIRES CLÉS

Réunions avec le ministre

MIN/DM

Le « MIN/DM » est une occasion hebdomadaire pour le sous-ministre et le sous-ministre délégué de rencontrer le ministre. Cette réunion essentielle sert à deux fins. Tout d'abord, elle fournit un forum pour un échange constructif d'informations et des discussions en profondeur sur les questions sensibles et émergentes; elle permet également de fournir des conseils sur la gestion stratégique des dossiers. Deuxièmement, elle facilite le processus de prise de décision. La réunion se termine par une discussion sur l'élaboration des politiques et des stratégies possibles afin de s'assurer que l'information pertinente soit portée à l'attention du ministre en temps opportun pour faire avancer le programme législatif; des fonctionnaires clés du ministère pourraient être présent afin d'offrir des séances d'information approfondies sur des dossiers ou enjeux.

Réunions hebdomadaires

Semaine à venir avec le CM

La réunion « Semaine à venir avec le CM» est une réunion hebdomadaire entre le personnel du Cabinet du ministre et des membres clés identifiés du Bureau du sous-ministre pour planifier la semaine à venir. Cette réunion se déroule tôt le lundi matin et est présidée par la directrice du Secrétariat ministériel. Elle offre la possibilité d'identifier et de discuter des activités et dossiers du Cabinet et parlementaires, ainsi que les besoins d'information, la correspondance et les événements liés aux communications. Elle offre également l'occasion de fournir des conseils stratégiques, de partager des informations en temps opportun et de confirmer les liens horizontaux.

BSM semaine à venir

La réunion « Semaine à venir avec le BSM » est une réunion hebdomadaire présidée par le sous-ministre, où des hauts fonctionnaires du Ministère se rencontrent pour discuter et planifier la semaine à venir, partager de l'information stratégique et identifier les risques juridiques possibles. Cette réunion a lieu le lundi matin, après la réunion « MO Week Ahead », afin d'être en mesure de confirmer les besoins du ministre en ce qui concerne l'information pour la semaine à venir et pour faciliter un flux continu et efficace d'information permettant au Ministère d'atteindre ses objectifs.

Secrétariat ministériel

Soutien ministériel

Le Secrétariat ministériel fournit des conseils stratégiques et du soutien opérationnel au sous-ministre ainsi qu'au ministre concernant son cabinet et ses activités parlementaires, sa correspondance et l'information qu'il requiert, en plus d'améliorer la coordination et la transmission horizontale d'information au sein du ministère.

Le Secrétariat ministériel est composé de trois unités : l'Unité de la liaison ministérielle, l'Unité des affaires du Cabinet et parlementaires et l'Unité de la correspondance ministérielle.

Directrice, Secrétariat ministériel

Yanike Legault, 952-8354

Liaison ministérielle

L'Unité de la liaison ministérielle (ULM) est le premier point de contact pour l'information qui arrive au Cabinet du ministre et au ministère ou qui en émane. À cette fin, l'ULM :

  • travaille avec le Cabinet du ministre à prévoir et à définir la portée, la teneur et les délais relatifs aux besoins d'information du Cabinet du ministre;
  • collabore avec le ministère afin de veiller à ce que les documents ministériels répondent aux besoins établis;
  • assure la coordination avec le Cabinet du ministre afin de veiller à ce que les décisions du ministre soient communiquées au ministère en temps opportun et à ce que le ministère soit avisé de toute nouvelle information ou du suivi requis à la lumière de l'information donnée;
  • collabore avec tous les secteurs du ministère pour veiller à ce que la communication d'information contribue à l'efficacité de la gestion des enjeux et de la prise de décisions.

Il incombe également à l'ULM de coordonner, d'examiner et de réviser tous les documents d'information destinés au ministre, d'organiser des exposés verbaux avec le ministre et son personnel ou à leur intention (p. ex., exposés techniques à l'intention des députés, information préparatoire à une comparution devant un comité parlementaire) et de répondre aux invitations adressées au ministre.

Gestionnaire, Unité de la liaison ministérielle

Julie Gauthier, 948-2998

Responsabilités liées au Cabinet et au Parlement

L'unité des affaires du Cabinet et parlementaires (UACP) a pour but de soutenir le ministre dans ses responsabilités relativement au processus décisionnel du Cabinet et ses responsabilités législatives et parlementaires en fournissant des documents d'information complets en temps opportun, des conseils stratégiques et de l'expertise au bureau du ministre, au bureau du sous-ministre et aux hauts fonctionnaires. L'UACP établit et maintient un réseau de contacts avec les organismes centraux et d'autres ministères afin de pouvoir surveiller et fournir des conseils sur les activités du Cabinet, parlementaires et législatives de nature horizontale.

Le soutien apporté par l'UACP est réalisé par :

  • la coordination et la gestion de l'agenda parlementaire et de l'agenda du Cabinet pour le Ministère;
  • la coordination et gestion des documents parlementaires;
  • la coordination du dépôt des rapports annuels et autres rapports spéciaux;
  • la préparation, coordination et révision des notes d'information, incluant les discours et les points d'allocution, pour l'utilisation du ministre au Cabinet et au Parlement;
  • le suivi de toutes les activités parlementaires et du Cabinet et en agissant en tant qu'agent principal de liaison entre le bureau du ministre et le ministère sur ces questions;
  • la prestation des conseils stratégiques sur les propositions qui sont pilotées par le Ministère et celles d'intérêt menées par d'autres ministères; et
  • le développement de stratégies et d'approches pour faire avancer l'agenda législatif.

Directeur adjoint par intérim et chef de l'UACP

Michael Assad, 954-3232

Correspondance ministérielle

L'Unité de la correspondance ministérielle (UCM) gère le processus relatif à l'ensemble de la correspondance adressée au ministre de la Justice et procureur général du Canada.

Le personnel de l'Unité de la correspondance ministérielle rédige des réponses à environ 95 pour cent du courrier reçu. Le reste est confié à différents secteurs du ministère qui préparent des réponses axées sur les politiques ou des réponses de nature juridique.

Gestionnaire, Unité de la correspondance ministérielle

Louise Bisson, 957-2950

Direction des communications

Communications

La Direction des communications fournit des services de planification et de conseils stratégiques en matière de relation avec les médias, de communications internes et externes, d'utilisation des médias numériques et sociaux, de stratégies de communication orale et écrite, d'analyse et de veille médiatique.

Directrice générale, Direction des communications

Tracie Noftle, 957-9596

Directrice, Services créatifs, des médias sociaux et des communications électroniques

Jennifer Buffam, 957-4216

Relations avec les médias

Le service des Relations avec les médias, gestion des enjeux et litiges de la Direction des communications travaille en étroite collaboration avec le bureau du ministre pour répondre aux demandes des médias, fournir aux journalistes la documentation nécessaire, préparer les infocaspules pour le ministre, coordonner les entrevues avec les médias, et offrir un soutien opérationnel et organisationnel lors des conférences de presse, des annonces et des événements médiatiques.

En outre, le groupe des relations avec les médias travaille avec les médias pour expliquer les positions du Ministère sur les enjeux relatifs à la justice, offrir un service de détection et de correction d'erreurs, et faire connaître les activités et les politiques du ministre et du Ministère. Le service offre également des séances de breffages techniques aux médias en coordination avec le secteur des politiques, au besoin.

Gestionnaire, Relations avec les médias, gestion des enjeux et litiges

Christian Girouard, 613-858-0182

Coupures de presse quotidiennes – Veille médiatique

Le service des relations avec les médias fournit quotidiennement des coupures de presse au ministre, au cabinet du ministre et aux hauts fonctionnaires. Les coupures de presse sont envoyées par courriel à 6 h 30. Le service effectue une veille médiatique en temps réel tout au long de la journée et transmet les nouvelles à prendre en compte au fur et à mesure.

Agente des communications (Veille médiatique)

Angela Savard, 613-617-4334

Discours

Le Service des discours offre des conseils et des services de planification et d'orientation stratégiques en matière de rédaction et de présentation de discours ministériels. Il s'occupe de la préparation et de la coordination des discours, et effectue des recherches, rédige, revoit, traduit les discours et en évalue la présentation.

Personne-ressource pour toute question relative aux discours Gestionnaire, Services créatifs et médias sociaux

Susan Fisher-Clement, 957-4620

Date de modification :